LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1988 (as amended) PUBLICATION OF RURAL SETTLEMENT LIST (Report by the Head of Customer Services)

1 INTRODUCTION

- 1.1 Section 42 of the Local Government Finance Act 1988 was amended by the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 to require billing authorities, such as Huntingdonshire District Council, to compile and maintain a rural settlement list.
- **1.2** The settlements referred to all those which appear to the authority to have a population of not more than 3,000 on the 31st December before the beginning of the chargeable financial year.
- 1.3 A rural settlement list must identify the boundary of each settlement, whether by defining the boundaries (for example, ward or parish boundaries) or referring to boundaries in a map or other document. This means that the Council can define the boundary of a rural settlement by reference to maps rather than accepting ward or parish boundaries to be the boundary of the settlement.
- **1.4** The purpose of the Rural Settlement List is to allow the Council to grant Rural Rate Relief to rural post offices, village shops, public houses and petrol stations.

2 CURRENT POSITION

- 2.1 Officers have undertaken a review of rural settlements and advise Members that some minor changes need to be made to the previously approved rural settlement list primarily because Fenstanton has once again exceeded the 3,000 population mark despite the Huntingdonshire (Parishes) Order 2009 which did move some properties in to St Ives Town. This report therefore revises the rural settlement list and defines new boundaries by reference to maps. For example, Fenstanton now specifically excludes the current 166 properties at "Elizabeth Court", "Greenfields" and "Maytrees" which are immediately adjacent to, and more akin to, St Ives Town.
- 2.2 In this way, qualifying rural shops and businesses will continue to be eligible to make application for certain mandatory and/or discretionary relief under the amended 1988 Act.
- 2.3 The amended draft rural settlement list, as proposed at Annex 'A', must be published and available for inspection by 31 December.
- 2.4 Where it is necessary to define boundaries, other than those of the respective parishes, these are illustrated by reference to maps, as shown at Annex 'B'. Members should note that these boundaries relate only to the application of Rural Rate Relief and not other matters (for example, planning development).

3 RECOMMENDATION

3.1 It is recommended that the District Council resolve that the revised rural settlement list shown at Annexes 'A' and 'B' be approved and made available for inspection as required throughout the three months preceding the beginning of the next financial year.

Contact Officer: Julia Barber – Head of Customer Services

(01480) 388105

LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE ACT 1988 RURAL SETTLEMENT LIST

Hemingford Grey Abbotsley

Abbots Ripton Hilton Holme Alconbury

Alconbury Weston Holywell-cum-Needingworth

Alwalton Houghton & Wyton Barham & Woolley Kimbolton & Stonely

Bluntisham Kings Ripton

Brington & Molesworth Leighton Bromswold

Broughton Morborne Buckden Offord Cluny* Buckworth Offord D'Arcy* Old Hurst Burv Old Weston Bythorn & Keyston

Catworth Perry

Chesterton Pidley-cum-Fenton Colne Ramsey Forty Foot* Conington Ramsey St Mary's* Ramsey Mereside* Covington Denton & Caldecote Ramsey Heights*

Sibson-cum-Stibbington Diddington

Earith Southoe & Midloe

Easton Spaldwick Ellington Stilton Elton Stow Longa Farcet (village area only)* The Stukeleys Farcet (rural area)* Tilbrook Fenstanton (village area only)* Toseland

Upton & Coppingford Folksworth & Washingley Glatton Upwood & the Raveleys Grafham Waresley-cum-Tetworth

Great & Little Gidding Water Newton Great Gransden Winwick **Great Paxton** Wistow Woodhurst **Great Staughton** Haddon Woodwalton Wyton-on-the-Hill

Hamerton & Steeple Gidding Yelling

Hemingford Abbots

Hail Weston

The boundaries to be used are those which currently define the relevant parish with the exception of those marked by an asterisk (*)